DUI Penalties

If you or someone you love has been arrested for drunk driving, also known as driving under the influence (DUI), then hiring an attorney may help minimize the costs and, if applicable, the jail time you or your loved one faces for driving under the influence (DUI). The penalties for drunk driving (DUI) are listed below, and the costs are higher than you might think.

MSN published an article on the costs of a DUI, or drinking and driving, offense entitled “DUI: The $10,000 Ride Home”. It outlines the costs from attorney fees to towing costs. You can find the article at http://budurl.com/DUICosts. It should help answer the question “Do I need a DUI defense lawyer?” A DUI defense lawyer can help you understand your options, help you avoid making more costly mistakes, and/or mount a defense against the charges.

It is illegal per se to drive with a blood or breath alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher, but operators can be convicted at levels lower than .08 based on other evidence which indicates impairment. Drivers under the age of 21 are deemed to be driving under the influence at .02 breath or blood alcohol level.

You must provide your name, drivers license, and registration if an officer stops you. You can refuse to take field sobriety tests, but do so respectfully and politely. If you are taken into custody, then the police will ask you to take breath, blood or urine tests. Kentucky drivers implicitly consent to take breath, blood or urine tests, but you may refuse these tests as well.

Refusal to take the breath, blood or urine tests may make it harder for prosecutors and police to secure a conviction, but a refusal will increase your penalties if you are convicted and makes it is possible for your license to be suspended for a time, whether or not you are found guilty of drunk driving / DUI.

The Penalties for DUI

Aggravating Circumstances

Aggravating Circumstances result in higher minimum jail time:

  • Drives 30+ mph over the speed limit
  • Drives the wrong way on a limited access highway
  • Causes accident resulting in death or serious physical injury
  • Blood or Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) of .15 or more within 2 hours after operating
  • Refusal to submit to testing
  • Transporting passengers under 12 years of age

Our experience with DUI defense is your peace of mind. Put our experience with driving under the influence (DUI) defense to work for you today.

 

If you are in Kentucky, then I’d recommend that you call my office at 502-587-1950 or 502-509-1490 to schedule a consultation if you have an agreement, parenting schedule or court order to discuss your options.

[bestwebsoft_contact_form]

If you are in Kentucky, then I’d recommend that you call my office at 502-587-1950 or 502-509-1490 to schedule a consultation if you have an agreement, parenting schedule or court order to discuss your options.

Leave a Reply